It’s been two months!

Oh snap, it’s been two months since I posted on here. That won’t do. So much for my mission to maintain a frequently updated blog for the first time in my life. Sigh. Anyway, hello from Riyadh! So much has happened in the last two months that I couldn’t possibly try and relay everything in a blog post. I also can’t remember much (oh yeah, I’m losing my memory – this is a legit thing that’s happening in my life and I’m very upset about it). I can’t really remember anything major happening. The King Abdullah died a few weeks ago whilst I was in Thailand. Oh and I went to Thailand. I 100% recommend it for a holiday, it was so much. offensively cheap and breathtakingly beautiful. I would upload pics but I already scattered them all over Facebook and Instagram.

Hmm, what else? I went to a party at an American Army Base? That was pretty spectacular. Being in a country where booze is illegal, anything that you can get your hands on is home brewed, dangerous and downright disgusting. Being home brewed, it doesn’t have to pass any health and safety checks, so really, you might actually die from it. No wonder we all feel like death has graced us the next day. Ugh. But anyway, this Army Base had a BAR with everything you could imagine. Some of us wept. We wept quiet tears of happiness, relief and joy. We had Disarrono, Hennessy, Jack Daniels, oh it was like something out of a fairy tale!

I know that other things have happened, but I’ve forgotten half and the other half doesn’t really seem worth mentioning, so let’s just leave it at that, shall we?

In the last week or so, I’ve really been missing my usual coffee shop spots. There aren’t many coffee shops here, and the few that are around are typically for men. Some of them might have a “family section” tucked away in the corner, with room dividers covering it but it doesn’t feel like a coffee shop and it’s not that enjoyable. I can park my arse in a coffee shop longer than anyone else I know, and I feel like sometimes there are fewer things I would rather do besides sitting in a chilled coffee shop with a good book and a coffee for hours and hours and hours until they finally kick you out. If you’re in London, let me recommend my three favourite spots so that you, oh fortunate people, may be able to enjoy the pleasures of some of the nicest coffee houses in London on my behalf. In no particular order (apart from the first one):

Harris and Hoole, Imperial Wharf – This is my number 1 local and favorite coffee house. It’s right opposite my house, so I love it even more. The staff are so very friendly, their coffee is perfect, the atmosphere is so bright and fresh (those words just seem right), and they have acoustic performances every Sunday.

The Fix – Shoreditch. Get your coffee fix here. Ahaaaa. I think this place was on the list for best places to study recently, it’s got a great chilled but productive atmosphere. Also, they have their toilet brush in a Starbucks mug lol which is obviously wonderful. Their coffee is good too.

Timber Yard – Old Street. I spent every day for two weeks at the coffee shop helping my sister with her dissertation last year and I love it. It’s set over two floors, has a quirky little thing going on where parts of the ceiling of the lower floor is glass so you can see what’s going on upstairs. Their food is so so yummy and they do lots and lots of herbal teas. nb: their matcha latte’s are so damn good.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment